About Us

The Cromwell Bowling Club is situated at 50 Alpha Street Cromwell and was founded on August 24 1911, so we currently celebrate 108 years of bowling.  We have 150+ members, made up of active playing members, and associate/social members.  The membership split between men and woman is consistently around 50%.

Our VISION is to make a major contribution towards the enhancement of the health and welfare of the Cromwell and Districts Community by becoming a focal point where the community comes to play bowls and be supported in, and enjoy, other activities.

Our MISSION is the delivery of high-quality bowling opportunities that are enjoyable, entertaining and accessible to all in our community now and into the future, and the provision of support to other comunity activities.

We are always keen to welcome new bowlers as well as experienced bowlers relocating to Cromwell.  The Green is open each day (apart from the first half of Monday morning) for members and their friends and families to play bowls.  A small fee of $5 pp is payable by those who are not club members. 

Coaching for new and existing bowlers is available.

Major tournaments are held during the summer season, with the largest being over the Easter weekend. Regular weekly interclub matches are also held for women's and men’s teams between clubs throughout Central Otago.

Installation of our new True Draw artificial green was completed on 17 June 2015. This has allowed for a wider playing window of at least 10 months of the year.  The club acknowledges the generous support of the following organisations with our Artificial Green Project: Central Lakes Trust, Otago Community Trust, Pub Charity, NZ Community Trust, The Trusts Foundation Community and Cromwell Lions.

Our AGM is held in May each year where we elect a President, Secretary and Treasurer, and a committee of seven people.  The Board operates on a portfolio basis with each person taking responsibilty for a key area of the club infra-structure, eg Grounds & Facilities, Operations & Matches, Social & Welfare, Membership and Fundraising etc.  We also have a Women's club captain and a Men's club captain.

Board meetings are held monthly at the Club.

John Thorn
President/Chairman/ Facilities
Sally Angus
Russell Freeman
Cliff Crawford
Vice President
Dave Grieve
Mens Club Captain
Les Wilson
Finance Committee
Graham Sycamore
Operations and Match
Jimmy Grieve
John Polson
Membership/Recruiting/Community Bowls
Diane Josselyn
Social and Welfare
Pat Risk
Ladies Club Captain